Virginia beach vehicle property tax

Virginia beach vehicle property tax DEFAULT

Personal Property Tax

Personal Property Taxes are due semi-annually on June 25th and December 5th. Supplement bills are due within 30 days of the bill date. View important dates for current supplements and due dates.

Ways to Pay

Tax Rate

The Personal Property tax rate for 2021 is $4 per $100 of assessed value. The rate is set annually by the York County Board of Supervisors in the month of May. The tax is assessed by the Commissioner of the Revenue, and collected by the Treasurer.

Prorated Tax

If you buy or sell a vehicle during the year, the vehicle will be subject to a prorated tax. If you move into or out of York County, your vehicle may be subject to a prorated tax. The Commissioner of the Revenuemust be notified of any status changes.

Personal Property Tax Relief

The amount of car tax relief (personal car, motorcycle, and pickup or panel truck having a registered gross weight of less than 7,501 pounds) is based upon total dollars from the Commonwealth, divided by the total tax of all qualifying vehicles in the County of York. York County Ordinance 05 to 28 allocates this relief to the first $20,000 of value. 2021 Tax Relief is at 48.5%.

Visit the Personal Property Tax Relief pageor the Vehicle Registration pagefor more information.


Penalty is 2% if paid within the month due. The penalty will increase to $10 or 10% , whichever is greater, but not to exceed the amount of the tax on any remaining balance. The penalty is calculated separately for each taxable item

Interest is accrued at an annual rate of 10% until payment in full is received.

Virginia Property Tax Calculator

Virginia Property Tax

Homeowners in the state of Virginia pay property tax rates that are well below the national average of 1.07%. In fact, the state's average effective property tax rate is just 0.80%, which falls in the bottom half of the nation.

Home values are quite high in Virginia, though, so homeowners here often pay annual property tax bills that are much more in line with national marks. In parts of Virginia, such as Alexandria City and Fairfax County, median home values surpass $500,000 and median annual property taxes exceed $5,000.

Eager to move? Or perhaps you’re simply looking to refinance your current mortgage? Before making a decision, take a look at our Virginia mortgage guide, which contains everything you need to know about getting a mortgage and mortgage rates throughout Virginia.

A financial advisor in Virginia can help you understand how homeownership fits into your overall financial goals. Financial advisors can also help with investing and financial plans, including taxes, homeownership, retirement and more, to make sure you are preparing for the future.

How Virginia’s Property Taxes Work

Property taxes in Virginia are calculated by multiplying a home’s assessed value by its total property tax rate. Assessed value is determined by local assessors on regular two- to six-year cycles. By state law, cities are required to reassess every two years and counties every four years. Smaller cities and counties (less than 30,000 and 50,000 people, respectively) can vote to reassess every four, five or six years.

The purpose of reassessment is to determine the fair market value of a property. This is the price the property would sell for on the open market. An inaccurate assessment can mean years of excess taxes, so it’s important that homeowners read their assessment notice. A homeowner who disagrees with their valuation can talk to their local board of assessment or file an official appeal with the Board of Equalization and Assessment Review.

Since properties are not reassessed every year, assessed values typically diverge from market values over time. The state of Virginia conducts an annual sales ratio study to determine the ratio of assessed values to market values. While ratios are generally close to 100%, in some cases they are not.

Thus, when properties are reassessed, it is possible for assessed values to change significantly. By state law, total taxes across a tax district cannot increase by more than 1% because of a reassessment, but taxes on an individual property can increase by any amount.

Virginia Property Tax Rates

Tax rates in Virginia are calculated by local governments, including counties, cities and special districts like sanitation districts. They are calculated per $100 of assessed value.

The table below shows the average effective tax rate (annual taxes paid as a percentage of home value) for every county and independent city in Virginia. It also shows the median home value and median annual property tax for each.

CountyMedian Home ValueMedian Annual Property Tax PaymentAverage Effective Property Tax Rate
Charles City$168,900$1,0570.63%
Isle of Wight$262,300$1,8610.71%
James City$339,600$2,5090.74%
King and Queen$161,800$9060.56%
King George$301,600$1,6330.54%
King William$206,100$1,6330.79%
New Kent$264,800$1,9100.72%
Prince Edward$161,400$7900.49%
Prince George$218,200$1,6030.73%
Prince William$369,300$3,8731.05%
Alexandria City$557,000$5,4850.98%
Bristol City$112,200$1,0460.93%
Buena Vista City$122,100$1,1850.97%
Charlottesville City$283,800$2,5000.88%
Chesapeake City$265,600$2,5380.96%
Colonial Heights City$168,000$1,8001.07%
Covington City$74,200$4730.64%
Danville City$91,100$6510.71%
Emporia City$123,800$8420.68%
Fairfax City$533,300$4,9000.92%
Falls Church City$757,300$9,0501.20%
Franklin City$168,300$1,2800.76%
Fredericksburg City$346,500$2,3190.67%
Galax City$101,100$7330.73%
Hampton City$186,400$2,0131.08%
Harrisonburg City$197,400$1,3340.68%
Hopewell City$119,700$1,2241.02%
Lexington City$203,600$1,9570.96%
Lynchburg City$158,800$1,5060.95%
Manassas City$313,100$3,5521.13%
Manassas Park City$281,500$3,5881.27%
Martinsville City$86,800$7600.88%
Newport News City$193,100$2,1941.14%
Norfolk City$199,400$2,2051.11%
Norton City$91,700$6810.74%
Petersburg City$108,200$1,2991.20%
Poquoson City$325,000$2,9710.91%
Portsmouth City$171,800$2,1391.25%
Radford City$164,600$1,0910.66%
Richmond City$220,700$2,2221.01%
Roanoke City$133,200$1,3611.02%
Salem City$176,800$1,8361.04%
Staunton City$164,800$1,4390.87%
Suffolk City$246,600$2,3930.97%
Virginia Beach City$274,300$2,4180.88%
Waynesboro City$167,600$1,2610.75%
Williamsburg City$300,100$1,7120.57%
Winchester City$236,800$1,9410.82%

Looking to calculate your potential monthly mortgage payment? Check out our mortgage calculator.

Fairfax County

Located southwest of Washington, D.C., Fairfax County has some of the most expensive homes in the country. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county’s median home value is $550,000. 

Those high home values also mean that, while property tax rates in Fairfax County aren’t especially high, annual tax payments are. More specifically, the median annual property tax paid by homeowners in Fairfax County is $5,641, which is more than double the national median.

Virginia Beach

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean in the southeast corner of the state, Virginia Beach has property tax rates slightly higher than the state average. The city’s average effective property tax rate is 0.88%. If you buy a home there, you can expect to pay a property tax bill of around $2,418 a year.

If you have questions about how property taxes can affect your overall financial plans, a financial advisor in Virginia Beach can help you out.

Prince William County

Prince William County is a largely suburban county situated on the Potomac River, southwest of Washington D.C. The average effective property tax in the county is 1.05%. Real estate in Prince William County was most recently reassessed as of 2019, which means current assessed values may be close to full market value.

Loudoun County

With a population of about 385,000, Loudoun County is the fourth-largest county or independent city in the state of Virginia. It also has some of the highest property taxes. The median annual property tax paid by Loudoun County homeowners is $5,340, which is the third-highest amount in the state. It's also more than $2,700 above the national median, which is $2,578.

Chesterfield County

Chesterfield County sits along the James River just outside of the city of Richmond. The county gets its name from a former British Secretary of State, the Earl of Chesterfield. The county’s average effective property tax rate is 0.88%. That rate comes in a bit above the 0.80% statewide average.

Henrico County

Henrico County has property taxes comparable to those in Chesterfield, which lies on the opposite side of the James River and the city of Richmond. County homeowners pay a median property tax of $1,880. Homes are valued at a median of $233,400.


Norfolk is an independent city located at the mouth of the Chesapeake Bay in southeast Virginia, near Virginia Beach. It is one of the most populous cities in Virginia. The city’s average effective property tax rate is 1.11%, among the 20 highest in Virginia.


The average effective property tax rate in Chesapeake, an independent city in southeast Virginia, is 0.96%. That represents the amount a typical homeowner could expect to pay annually as a percentage of his or her home value. However, it is important to keep in mind that actual tax rates apply to assessed value, which can differ from market value.

Arlington County

The median home value in Arlington County, which is located directly across the Potomac from the nation’s capital, is $669,400. That’s among the top 20 median home values of any county in the nation. Annual property taxes are likewise quite high, as the median annual property tax paid by homeowners in Arlington County is $6,001.


Richmond is the capital of Virginia and the place where Virginia’s property tax laws were established. It has a population of around 224,000, making it the fourth-largest city in the state. Richmond’s average effective property tax rate is 1.01%.

Calculate Your Property Taxes in These Other States

  1. Valorant looking for team discord
  2. Used wedding dress size 8
  3. Destination rv for sale texas
  4. Rain bird 3 4 sprinkler

Click to Home

Prorated Listing

LocalityProrating Since
Accomack County
Albemarle County
Alexandria City1971
Arlington County1982
Bedford County
Botetourt County
Caroline County2013
Charlottesville City1991
Chesapeake City1986
Chesterfield County1988
Clarke County
Culpeper County2013
Danville City1987
Dinwiddie County2009
Emporia City1997
Fairfax City
Fairfax County
Falls Church
Fauquier County
Franklin City
Frederick County
Fredericksburg City2005
Goochland County2010
Hampton City1983
Hanover County
Henrico County1995
Hopewell City2002
Isle of Wright
James City County
Lexington City1996
Lynchburg City
Mathews County2006
Montgomery County2016
Nelson County1997
Newport News City
Norfolk City1983
Northhampton County1998
Page County1997
Petersburg City
Poquoson City1990
Portsmouth City1983
Powhatan County2013
Prince George County2013
Prince William County
Richmond City1991
Roanoke City
Roanoke County
Rockbridge County
Salem City
Southhampton County2003
Spottsylvania County1998
Stafford County
Suffolk City1994
Virginia Beach City
Warren County
Winchester City
York County
Top 10 Reasons NOT to Move to Virginia Beach, Virginia

Personal Property Tax

The Commissioner of the Revenue is responsible for the assessment of taxes on individual and business vehicles, recreational vehicles, boats, mobile homes, aircraft, trailers and rental tax on daily passenger cars. Our office uses the latest NADA guides to determine vehicle valuations. The annual due date for personal property tax is June 5th each year. Supplemental bills are due December 5th and March 31st for additional items added after the annual billing.

Vehicle TypeTax Rates
Aircraft$2.40 per $100 of assessed value
Personal Boats$0.25 per $100 of assessed value
Mobile Homes$1.25 per $100 of assessed value
Recreational Vehicles$1.50 per $100 of assessed value
Vehicle$4.33 per $100 of assessed value

High Mileage Adjustments

Personal property assessments may be appealed based on high mileage. Typically, putting 12,000 to 15,000 miles on your vehicle per year is viewed as average. Anything above this would most likely be considered high mileage. High mileage is really relative to the age of the vehicle. An older vehicle with just under 100,000 miles isn't considered to be high mileage for its age whereas a 3 year old vehicle with that many miles is considered high mileage. The chart below may help you determine if your vehicle might qualify for a high mileage deduction.

Mileage used to calculate deductions.

Model YearConsidered high mileage if vehicles mileage is at least:
2021NADA does not provide a value adjustment for current year
202020,001 miles
201935,001 miles
201845,001 miles
201760,001 miles
201670,001 miles
201585,001 miles
201495,001 miles
2013105,001 miles
2012120,001 miles
2011130,001 miles
2010140,001 miles
2009150,001 miles
2008155,001 miles
2007 & older165,001 miles

How to submit for an adjustment

To see if your vehicle qualifies for a high mileage adjustment please submit your Virginia State Police Inspection Certification (which you get when you have your vehicle inspected each year) to: [email protected] Please include your account number in the email.


The City of Norfolk levies a personal property tax on all pleasure boats including sailboats, motor boats, and other non-commercial watercraft. The tax rate is based on the ABOS Marine Blue Book retail value. Norfolk City Council voted to eliminate the pleasure boat decal effective January 1, 2010. Although the decal has been eliminated, Norfolk boat owners are required to pay the decal fee. The decal fee is automatically added to your personal property tax bill which is due on June 5th. The decal fee will vary depending upon the length of the boat.

  • 16 feet and over - $40
  • Under 16 feet - $15

Proper Authorities

Additionally, our office receives data from the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries and the United States Coast Guard on an annual basis. Please make sure any changes in your registration status are reported to the proper authorities such as the following:


Vehicle property tax virginia beach

‘We’re going to get it fixed’: Some Newport News veterans may receive a vehicle tax bill larger than it should be

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. (WAVY) — An important notice for disabled veterans in one Hampton Roads City: You may have received a tax bill that is larger than it should have been.

Newport News city leaders say they are looking into an issue that is keeping disabled veterans from receiving tax reductions they have long been given. Since 1994, the city has offered up a lower tax rate for one vehicle owned and operated by a disabled veteran.

However, following voters’ approval of a constitutional amendment to the state consitution this past fall, a mistake may have been made within city hall.

In the case of 73-year-old Ronald Curtis, a disabled Vietnam veteran, his personal property tax bill “blindsided” him. He owed more than $400 for his car.

“I was blindsided, all of us were blindsided,” Curtis said.

In the past, anyone who the Department of Veterans’ Affairs ruled injured or ill because of service or had a preexisting condition exacerbated by their service was eligible for the reduction of $1 for every $100 of assessed value.

However now, a letter from the Commissioner of the Revenue communicated Curtis had to pay the full rate of $4.50 per every $100.

“I went over (to the Commissioner’s office) and they said ‘well, you’re not 100% disabled veteran,” Curtis said. “So I wasn’t eligible.”

In March, City Council made a change to the city code to reflect the change in the state constitution that allows all disabled veterans who have 100% service-connected, permanent and total disability to have one automobile or pickup truck completely exempt from personal property tax.

According to VA Medical Center paperwork — Curtis is only conidered 70% service-connected disabled.

Problem is, the new state law says nothing about taking away discounts for disabled residents across the board. The city’s change appeared to do just that.

“Never in the presentation of this amendment was it ever discussed that this would be taking away some of the benefits some of the veterans had,” said Councilman David Jenkins. “It was a replacement of the older language with the newer and there wasn’t the attention to detail enough I guess that would pick up on how this would affect other veterans that are still eligible for benefits.” 

Mayor McKinley Price said the city attorney’s office was aware of the issue and is working on a solution.

“We’re going to get it fixed,” Price said. 

It’s a fix Curtis says needs to happen sooner than later. He says he’s heard from a lot of upset friends

“A lot of them say they aren’t going to pay it. Because they don’t have any money,” Curtis said.

He wants to make sure people don’t blindly pay if they don’t have to. Tax bills are due June 5.

Disabled veterans can call the Personal Property Department at 757-926-8657 if they have an issue.

CORRECTION:An earlier version of this storymisstated what benefits all veterans received before the ratification of the Constitutional amendment.WAVY-TV regrets the error.

Get the free WAVY News App, available for download in the App Store and Google Play, to stay up to date with all your local news, weather and sports, live newscasts and other live events.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Virginia Beach Homes in 2021 - How Much Does it Cost to Buy a Home in Virginia Beach Virginia?

Personal Property Tax

Portsmouth levies a personal property tax on vehicles, boats, aircraft, and mobile homes.

Personal Property Tax Rates


Autos, trucks, motorcycles and utility trailers are assessed on a prorated basis using the National Automobile Dealers Associations Blue Book (NADA) value at a rate of $5.00 per $100.00.


Boats are assessed using the ABOS Marine Blue Book low estimated trade-in value at the rate of $0.50 per $100.00.

Recreational Vehicles

Recreational vehicles are assessed using the NADA book of Recreational Vehicle Appraisal Guide at a rate of $1.50 per $100.00.

Mobile Homes

Mobile Homes are assessed using the % of cost at the rate of $1.30 per $100.00.


Leased personal property, such as cars and trucks, is taxable at the personal property tax rate.

Daily Rentals

There is no personal property owed for daily rentals.


You will also like:

" flashed through my head. And suddenly, apparently the train "jumped" on the railway switch, a sharp pain tearing all my insides, went like a shock through my body, his penis was in me. My scream drowned along with the face on the chest of the Caucasian lying underneath the house.

8748 8749 8750 8751 8752